National Statistical System Committee

The National Statistical System is functioning within the frame of cooperation between the National Institute of Statistics, public central and local authorities and the National Bank of Romania, each of them having a limited production and dissemination area of official statistics in Romania. Its architecture is gradually evolving over time, as specific competence is developing, according to the needs of official statistics in various fields of public interest.

The National Statistical System Committee (COMSTAT) is a consulting body, including representatives of official statistics producers, respectively of public insitutions or statisitcal profile units within a public authority or institution, belonging to the National Statistical System, which collect statistical data, process and disseminate official statistics.

COMSTAT has the main role to support the National Statistical Institute in the coordination process of the National Statistical System for the implementation, monitoring and evaluation of its development strategy and of multiannual and annual national statistical programs. COMSTAT was created according to the Law no. 226/2009 regarding the organisation and functioning of official statistics in Romania, with later modifications and completions.

In keeping with the complexity and specificity of certain topics, experts from statistical enterprises and institutions, teaching staff and other personalities, that can contribute to the solving of issues under discussion can take part in the COMSTAT works as guests.

COMSTAT composition is set up by Order of the president of the National Statistical Institute.

The representatives of the National Institute of Statistics are the members by right of COMSTAT.

COMSTAT leadership is provided by the president of the National Institute of Statistics, assisted by a technical secretariat ensured by the staff from the National Statistical Institute.

COMSTAT elaborates and approves its own organisation and functioning regulation, approved by order of the INS president.


Organisation and Function Regulation

Orders on the COMSTAT members

COMSTAT meetings


COMSTAT components – 2014


1. Costin ILIUŢĂ - Ministry of Health 

2. Alexandra CUCU - National Institute of Public Health Bucharest

3. Constantina CRISTEA - National Center of Public Health Statistics and Information

4. Cristian PETRARU - Ministry of Internal Affairs

5. Gheorghe DINU - Ministry of National Education

6. Mihaela CRISTEA-DEISS - Ministry of Transport

7. Gelu DAE - Romanian Railway Authority

8. Alexandru PELIN - National Company of Highways and National Roads from Romania

9. Carmen DUCA- Romanian Road Transport Authority

10. Sorin CEPOI - Romanian Civil Aeronautical Authority

11. Iulia IONEL - Romanian Naval Authority

12. Constantin Ghe. PĂTRAŞCU - Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development

13. Constrantin STROIE - National Agency for Fisheries and Aquaculture

14. Alecu RĂSVAN - National Agency for Land Improvements

15. Raluca MIRON - Ministry of Environment and Climate Change

16. Constanţa MOLDOVAN - National Administration "Romanian Waters"

17. Cristina PITIGOI - National Administration of Environmental Protection

18. Maria VĂLEANU - Ministry of Labour, Family, Social Protection and Elderly

19. Valentin ASULTANEI - Labour Inspection

20. Marius VULPE - National Agency for Employment

21. Daniel COSTACHE - National House of Public Pensions

22. Andreia Cristina STĂNESCU - Ministry of Information Society

23. Ana MUICĂ - Ministry of Regional Development and Public Administration

24. Mihai SERBAN - Ministry of Culture

25. Claudia LUNGU - National Library of Romania

26. Mioara SERIGEANU - National Center of Cinematography

27. Ioana BURLĂ - Ministry of Public Finances

28. Bălăşoiu CARMEN - National Agency of Fiscal Administration

29. Silvia POPA - Ministry of Economy

30. Augustin Corneliu VACU  - Ministry of Justice

31. Gabriel CONDESTEANU şi Dorin STOENESCU - National Office of Trade Register

32. Romeo VASILIU - National Administration of Penitentiaries

33. Cristian IONIŢĂ - Superior Council of the Magistrature

34. Corina-Maria NECULCEA - National Agency for Consumer Protection

35. Eugenia OPRESCU - State Office for Inventions and Trademarks

36. Lusine CARACASIAN - National Authority of Energy Regulation

37. Florica DURLEA - National Sanitary Veterinary and Food Safety Authority

38. Florina SORA - National Agency for Mineral Resources

39. Bogdan VASILESCU - National Authority of Communication Management and Regulation

40. Razvan FRANCULESCU - National Audiovisual Council

41. Adriana FLOREA  - Romanian Television Society

42. Elena BORCEA - Romanian Radio Broadcasting Company

43. Mircea PASCU - National Office for Prevention and Control of Money Laundering

44. Răzvan PANAIT - University of Agronomic Sciences and Veterinary Medicine

45. Irina CALCIU - National Research and Development Institute for Pedology, Agrochemistry and Environmental Protection 


Last update:May 28, 2014